Shaney Irene

On Faith, Life, and Being the Church

Silence and Prayer (or, Taking the Weekend Off)

Leave a comment

The idea of be still and wait are common in the Bible.

Stillness and patience do not come easily to me. I react easily, and I tend to be opinionated and outspoken. On top of that, it’s election season. On top of that, one of my favorite bloggers released a controversial book. On top of that, I’ve been dealing with some negative reactions to my writing.

It’s been a lot to deal with.

I’ve never been good at practicing the spiritual disciplines of silence and meditation. Mostly because I’ve never tried. I’ve realized this week, though, that it’s very important to unplug, to take time to remove myself from the busyness of life, to take time to rest and rejuvenate. It’s important to regularly take time to remove distractions and just sit quietly with the Lord.

So, here’s two ways I’m going to put this into practice.

1. I’m removing myself from the internet from when I get off work today until I go back to work Tuesday morning.

No Facebook, no Twitter, no blogs. Just checking e-mail and (maybe) using Google if I need information. My boyfriend is coming in for the weekend from Chicago, so it works out well. As the internet has been getting increasingly hostile lately, I need a few days away, time to pray and to spend time with those I love.

Since I work for a web-based company, this will be strange. But I anticipate that it will be good and healthy.

2. I’m taking a weekend trip to a Monastery in November.

Specifically, I’m going to St. Scholastica Monastery in Boerne, TX, home of the Benedictine Sisters of Boerne.

St. Scholastica Monastery

I’m not sure exactly when I’m going, but I hope to go the weekend of November 17. My goals are to get away from technology, sit silently, write, read the Bible, and pray, hopefully coming back rejuvenated and better equipped to reflect the virtues of gentleness and patience in my everyday life.

I’m a little nervous, but mostly I’m excited. I honestly can’t remember the last time I fully unplugged. I can’t wait to see what God does as I practice the spiritual disciplines of stillness and silence.

Leave a Reply

